Days since MCO

MCO started on Mar 18, 2020


Days till RMCO lifted

RMCO expected to lift on Dec 31, 2020


Our coverage on COVID‑19

COVID-19: Inter-district travel ban to be imposed in Sabah from 3rd October

To curb the spread of COVID-19 infections, Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced a statewide inter-district travel restriction for Sabah. This will take effect from 12.01am this Saturday, 3rd October until 16th October 2020.

According to the Minister, travel between districts are only allowed for essential services such as food supplies, medicine, security and others. These are the latest measures to contain the pandemic in the state after a targeted enhanced MCO (TEMCO) was declared in Lahad Datu, Tawau, Kunak and Semporna from 29th September.

Ismail Sabri Yaakob has confirmed that the new inter-district restrictions will not prevent those who released from COVID-19 quarantine to return home, whether they are located within or outside of Sabah. Those that have completed their quarantine are allowed to return to their respective districts or return to Semenanjung, Sarawak and Labuan.

Under the current TEMCO, residents in the four districts are not allowed to leave their respective districts and visitors are also not allowed in. All non-essential businesses are ordered to close and only essential premises such as shops providing essential goods and services are allowed to remain open.

Malaysia records its second highest daily COVID-19 cases today with 260 new infections. This is the highest since 4th June 2020 and 259 are transmitted locally.


Related reading

Alexander Wong