Days since MCO

MCO started on Mar 18, 2020


Days till RMCO lifted

RMCO expected to lift on Dec 31, 2020


Our coverage on COVID‑19

COVID-19: Malaysia records 58 new cases today, 48 from Sabah

Malaysia has recorded 58 new COVID-19 cases today which brings the total number of cases to 9,868. Fortunately, there are no new deaths reported and the death toll remains at 128.

The Ministry of Health has reported 8 new recoveries and a total of 9,189 patients have recovered and discharged so far. The recovery rate is now 93.12% while the mortality rate is 1.30%.

The number of active COVID-19 cases remaining has jumped to 551 and they are currently isolated and receiving treatment. 9 patients are in ICU while 5 require respiratory support.

Out of the 58 new COVID-19 cases today, 5 are imported while 53 are transmitted locally. The 5 imported cases consist of 3 Malaysians returning from Pakistan, India and Indonesia respectively, and foreigners arriving from Syria and the Philippines.

In terms of local cases, 48 are reported in Sabah which consists of 44 cases from the Benteng LD cluster and there’s 4 from a newly identified Laut cluster (inclusive of 1 imported). There’s also one more case in Sabah that was detected via pre-surgery screening.

In Kedah, there are 5 new cases from the Sungai cluster.

At the moment, the Benteng cluster has a total of 381 positive cases and a total of 4,089 individuals have been screened so far. 2,544 individuals from the cluster are still waiting for results.

For the Sungai cluster in Kedah, there are a total of 56 positive cases and a total of 8,258 individuals from Kedah, Penang and Perlis have been screened. According to Health director-general Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah, the new Laut cluster in Sabah originated from a man that sneaked into Sabah from Zamboanga, Philippines to visit his wife on the 5th of September. All four cases from the cluster are Filipinos and one is a 3 year old girl.

SEE ALSO:  Snapchat: 31% Malaysians felt lonely ever since the pandemic started

Malaysia currently has 3 red zones namely Tawau with 292 cases, Lahad Datu with 88 cases and Kota Setar with 56 cases. The federal territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan, as well as the states of Sarawak, Perlis, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Johor, Terengganu and Kelantan are fully green.


Alexander Wong