WhatsApp is finally getting a very much requested feature, the ability to properly delete/recall messages that have been erroneously sent out.
Granted WhatsApp is already able to delete messages, but you can only delete the message on your end, leaving said embarrassing message still visible to whoever you sent it to. Now, all you need to do to get rid of that accidental mis-text is to tap and hold, and you’ll then get to choose whether to delete the message just for yourself or for everyone.
You can even choose to delete a whole bunch of messages at once. Removed messages will appear as “You deleted this message” in your own chat window while everyone else will see it as “This message was deleted” on the other end.
But, there’s a catch.
For starters, “delete for everyone” only works for up to seven minutes after sending a message, which makes it only feasible for your most recent oops. Also, just because you can now delete the message doesn’t mean the recipient hasn’t had a chance to see it before you removed the evidence and there’s no notification to let you know the message was successfully deleted from the other end.
Still, it’s great that we’ll finally be able to delete those accidental texts to the wrong chatgroup if you’re quick enough.
The feature is still in the process of rolling out, so if you don’t already have it, you’ll be getting it soon!